TTT #211| Books to Read If You Love Romantic Comedies

We have been having fun with Top Ten Tuesday, so we decided we will do one every week. This bookish meme was hosted by The Broke and the Bookish, and has been going since June 2010! Since January 2018 Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by That Artsy Reader Girl.

This week’s topic is Books to Read if You Love X. So I decided to make this topic into Books to Read If You Love Romantic Comedies. I’m a big fan of them myself and love when books give me the same vibes as my favorite movies.

To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before – Jenny Han

To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before is a trilogy I loved so much I ended up reading it more than once. This cast of characters makes you laugh, swoon, and definitely relate to some of the problems that come up in this story. These books were also adapted for Netflix and I love how they were done!

Simon vs. the Homosapiens Agenda – Becky Albertalli

Simon vs. the Homosapiens Agenda is another book that fits everything that a romantic comedy needs. Accepting yourself isn’t always something that’s easy (especially in high school), but this book is definitely a journey of acceptance. The characters are a lot of fun and the main characters exchanges emails with the character he ends up falling in love with. I can’t say no to books with emails, texts or anything like that.

Better Than the Movies – Lynn Painter

A YA contemporary that actually talks about romantic comedies! What else could you ask for?!? Yet again another book that’s swoonworthy and one I’ve talked about quite often on the blog since its release. Our main character loves everything romantic comedies and to be honest her life ends up playing out like one. I’ve read Better Than the Movies twice, but I’ll definitely be revisiting it in the future.

Date Me, Bryson Keller – Kevin van Whye

Fake dating is one of my favorite tropes and the author of Date Me, Bryson Keller did an amazing job bringing this trope to life. Bryson must say yes to the first person that asks him out every week. Kai decides to ask him out and see what happens, because he never expects Bryson to agree but of course he does. There is a lot more than meets the eye to these characters and besides having plenty of laugh out loud moments we definitely get a share of more serious subjects dealt with in such an amazing way.

Camp – L.C. Rosen

Camp is set at a queer camp that takes place for four weeks in the summer. Everyone is accepted and being queer is celebrated! If only everyone in the world saw it this way and we always celebrated it. That being said, Camp does deal with some serious subjects, but the conclusion always is people should be accepted for who they are. This camp seems like a lot of fun and even though you know certain things will go wrong I loved every minute of it.

The Bromance Book Club – Lyssa Kay Adams

The Bromance Book Club is a book I knew I needed when I read that a group of men got together to read romance so they could save their relationships. I laughed out loud so much while reading this book, because I’ve always wondered what it would be like if a club like this existed. The author created an amazing cast of characters, a fun romance, and definitely left me wanting books for every character we met.

The Unhoneymooners – Christina Lauren

When I think rom-com I think Christina Lauren. This author duo creates amazing romances that always make me laugh. In The Unhoneymooners our two main characters go on a fake honeymoon when their siblings get sick at their wedding (let’s just say I look at food buffets in a different way).

Red, White & Royal Blue – Casey McQuiston

Red, White & Royal Blue has become one of my favorite books and I don’t see that ever changing. We start out with enemies to lovers but also having to keep a relationship hidden. Okay, this book definitely got me emotional, but I laughed more than cried. The author created a great story and cast of characters that I’ll definitely go back to often.

Spoiler Alert – Olivia Dade

Spoiler Alert is another one of my favorite romances! I love when characters are a fan of something that becomes a part of their life. Add some fanfiction and cosplay and my geeky heart was happy. These two characters are amazing together, but even with the bumps along the road I laughed often while reading this.

Let’s Get Textual – Teagan Hunter

Let’s Get Textual is the perfect combination of sweet, sexy, and funny! Like I’ve mentioned before I love books with texts or emails and that’s what starts everything here: a text from a wrong number. This leads to some funny situations and an epic romance!

 

Some Recent TTT Posts:

TTT #206| Favorite Bookish Settings
TTT #207| Spooky Middle Grade Books I Want to Read
TTT #208| Books I Keep Saving for Halloween
TTT #209| Books I Would Hand to Someone Who Claims to Not Like Reading
TTT #210|Memorable Things Characters Have Said

So a lot of these are more well known books, but I can’t help but highlight them once more. If you’re looking for a laugh and an occasional serious situation I definitely recommend these! What are your favorite romantic comedies? Let me know in the comments! Feel free to leave your TTT link in the comments!

8 thoughts on “TTT #211| Books to Read If You Love Romantic Comedies

  1. The Bromance Book Club and Red, White and Royal Blue were both great books! Will have to check out some of the others now. Spoiler Alert is already on my TBR.

    Here is our Top Ten Tuesday. Thank you!

  2. Ironically I love a rom-com, but I’m really not a big fan of romantic books, I think because in rom-coms (if they’ve been cast well), you can actually see that the couple has chemistry on screen whereas that’s much harder to convey in books, especially if you’re like me and don’t visualise things when you read!
    Jo recently posted…Top Ten Tuesday #342My Profile

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge