Book Tour| Glimpsed – G.F. Miller

Today I’m posting on my first book tour of the year hosted by TBR and Beyond Tours. Glimpsed was a book I heard about last year and was really excited about reading. This book was described as perfect for fans of Geekerella and Jenn Bennett. That’s all I needed to know. I’m going to share my review, favorite quotes and top 5 reasons why you should read Glimpsed. Keep on reading to find out more!

A big thanks to the publisher for providing me with an e-arc to read and review.

Glimpsed by GF Miller
Genre: Young Adult Contemporary Fantasy
Publishing Date: January 5, 2021

Perfect for fans of Geekerella and Jenn Bennett, this charming, sparkly rom-com follows a wish-granting teen forced to question if she’s really doing good—and if she has the power to make her own dreams come true.

Charity is a fairy godmother. She doesn’t wear a poofy dress or go around waving a wand, but she does make sure the deepest desires of the student population at Jack London High School come true. And she knows what they want even better than they do because she can glimpse their perfect futures.

But when Charity fulfills a glimpse that gets Vibha crowned homecoming queen, it ends in disaster. Suddenly, every wish Charity has ever granted is called into question. Has she really been helping people? Where do these glimpses come from, anyway? What if she’s not getting the whole picture?

Making this existential crisis way worse is Noah—the adorkable and (in Charity’s opinion) diabolical ex of one of her past clients—who blames her for sabotaging his prom plans and claims her interventions are doing more harm than good. He demands that she stop granting wishes and help him get his girl back. At first, Charity has no choice but to play along. But soon, Noah becomes an unexpected ally in getting to the bottom of the glimpses. Before long, Charity dares to call him her friend…and even starts to wish he were something more. But can the fairy godmother ever get the happily ever after?

Book Links

Goodreads
Amazon
Barnes and Noble
Indigo
IndieBound

Review

Glimpsed isn’t your typical high school romance, because I bet your high school didn’t have a teenage fairy godmother! Our main character Charity sees “glimpses” and knows the deepest wishes of the person she “glimpses”. I’ve never read a story with fairy godmothers. This was really interesting and it’s definitely a unique contemporary.

Charity was a pretty relatable main character. Even though she is a fairy godmother, she is also just a typical teenager with issues of her own. I really felt for Charity, because it’s clear she felt lonely at times (her family wasn’t exactly around or supportive throughout the book). All she really wanted to do was make her “cindy” at the time happy. She may have not always thought about the consequences, but she meant well. I do feel at times we didn’t completely get Charity, because how she was described didn’t always match her actions. That being said, I did enjoy Charity’s journey.

Noah was also an interesting character in this book. I wasn’t sure what to think of Noah at first, but he definitely grew on me. I loved seeing a “nerdy” character be a bigger part of the story. Even though he didn’t always go about things the right why, I do feel he had good intentions. His family was a lot of fun and I wouldn’t have minded seeing more of them.

I laughed out loud quite a few times while reading this book and loved all the “nerdy” references. Those always make me happy when I’m reading books. And we can’t forget the romance. I have to say I enjoyed that it wasn’t the main focus from the start, but that it slowly developed as the story continued. The cast of side characters were also interesting and the grandmother definitely made me laugh a few times.

If you’re looking for a fast and fun read that will definitely make you laugh, I recommend Glimpsed. I’m definitely hoping we get more fairy godmother stories, because this was actually a lot of fun!

Favorite Quotes

“Fairy godmothers don’t whine. We don’t beg for mercy like little wusses. Fairy godmothers take charge.”

“Oh goodie. Are we going to do the shopping montage, where I try on all the outfits for you while a One Direction song plays?”

“So, are we talking magical enslavement here? Are you like a genie in a lamp?”

“Have you ever tried to control it? Can we turn if off and on?”

“Humans who fall in love with fairies are royally screwed. Seriously, it always ends very badly for the hapless human. Which explains so much about my family tree.”

Top 5 Reasons You Should Read Glimpsed

  • Glimpsed is a fast and fun read
  • Humor – There are quite a few laugh out loud moments
  • Pop culture references – Especially Star Trek fans will love this
  • A cute romance – Need I say more?!?
  • Characters aren’t perfect – Reading is more fun when you can relate to the main characters!

 

Tour Schedule

There are a lot of amazing bloggers and bookstagrammers participating on this tour. Click here for the full schedule, so you can go look at their posts too!

Giveaway

One reader (US/CAN only) will win a finished copy of Glimpsed. This giveaway ends on January 12th. Click here to enter this giveaway!

About the Author

G.F. Miller can write 80,000-word novels, but ask her to sit down and write 250 true and meaningful words about herself and she is likely to have an existential crisis. Who am I, really? She ponders. What do I want to be known for? Does anyone even read the back flap or visit author websites?

But eventually she will pull herself together and tell you that…She married her college sweetheart and is mom to three littles who routinely make her heart burst and her head explode (it’s a messy business, love). There are puppies big and small residing at her house (you’ll be seeing a lot of them if you follow her on Instagram). She’s been to a dozen countries, but not nearly as many as she would like. She loves learning all the things. She cries at all the wrong times. She makes faces at herself in the mirror. She believes in the Oxford comma. And she’s always here for a dance party.

While the stories she has brewing in her soul vary wildly from one another, there are three things they will always have in common: love, snappy dialogue, and happy endings.

Author Links

Website
Instagram
Goodreads
YouTube

Glimpsed was a fast and fun read to start off 2021 with! I loved this take on fairy godmothers. Would you want a wish granted by a fairy godmother? Let me know in the comments! I’d love to hear from you.

One thought on “Book Tour| Glimpsed – G.F. Miller

  1. This premise sounds exactly like a book that I would totally read as a guilty pleasure. I’ll have to look into it!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge