Review | The Inheritance Games – Jennifer Lynn Barnes

Candyce participated in the blogtour for The Inheritance Games a little while ago but I really wanted to share my thoughts as well. Jennifer Lynn Barnes is one of my favorite authors and I truly think she is underrated. Yes she has a extended backlist and a lot of people probably heard about her, but I don’t think nearly enough people actually read her books or in any case, not enough people talk about reading her books! So here’s my review on her newest book.

Review | The Inheritance Games – Jennifer Lynn Barnes

A Cinderella story with deadly stakes and thrilling twists, perfect for fans of One of Us is Lying and Knives Out.
Avery Grambs has a plan for a better future: survive high school, win a scholarship, and get out. But her fortunes change in an instant when billionaire Tobias Hawthorne dies and leaves Avery virtually his entire fortune. The catch? Avery has no idea why--or even who Tobias Hawthorne is. To receive her inheritance, Avery must move into sprawling, secret passage-filled Hawthorne House, where every room bears the old man's touch--and his love of puzzles, riddles, and codes.
Unfortunately for Avery, Hawthorne House is also occupied by the family that Tobias Hawthorne just dispossessed. This includes the four Hawthorne grandsons: dangerous, magnetic, brilliant boys who grew up with every expectation that one day, they would inherit billions. Heir apparent Grayson Hawthorne is convinced that Avery must be a con-woman, and he's determined to take her down. His brother, Jameson, views her as their grandfather's last hurrah: a twisted riddle, a puzzle to be solved. Caught in a world of wealth and privilege, with danger around every turn, Avery will have to play the game herself just to survive.


The Inheritance Games by Jennifer Lynn Barnes
Series: The Inheritance Games #1
on 01/09/2020
Genres: Mystery
Pages: 384
Goodreads

Cover

The US and UK covers are very different from each other so I wanted to take a look at both. Usually I really prefer the UK ones over the US ones but in this case I have to go with the US cover! The UK cover has people on it, something you know I don’t like haha. And while it gives off the billionaire vibe, you don’t get that game element. The US cover has a lot of detail and the longer you look at it, the more you see. I think this fits the vibe of the story and the house a lot more!

Everything’s a game, Avery Grambs. The only thing we get to decide in this life is if we play to win.

Review

As soon as I read the synopsis for this book I knew I had to read it. A billionaire dies and basically leaves his entire fortune to a girl who doesn’t know him. She has to move into his house, with his family. And that whole house is filled with puzzles and riddles. This is a mystery right up my alley!

The book is recommended to fans of One of Us Is Lying and Knives Out, I loved that movie and think it was a pretty relevant comparison. There are little puzzles in basically everything and I loved it. I would love to spend some time in that house, with its multiple libraries. What a dream! The mystery was really well done and I couldn’t wait to find out what was going on. And that main mystery has a pretty satisfying ending, this was very well done in my opinion.

Since there is going to be a sequel I was expecting a bit of a cliffhanger. I was happy that we got a lot of answers in this first book. But we also get one hell of a hook for the next book! I was so excited by that last part of the book and was just screaming haha. What do I need to do to get the sequel right away?! There were so many twists and turns in this book and I can only imagine how the second book will turn out.

We aren’t normal. This place isn’t normal, and you’re not a player, kid. You’re the glass ballerina—or the knife.

Avery is our main character, she works hard at school so she can get a scholarship to go to a good university. When our story starts, she quickly learns she inherited a fortune and I was actually really happy for her. She doesn’t start spending it all at once, and the little she does spend goes to other people. I really liked being in Avery’s head and I’m happy so is our MC.

Avery get’s her fortune from grandpa Hawthorne and even though we don’t actually get to see him (since he’s dead) I did really like him haha. I loved how he set all of this up and the little things we learn about him in the past. He has four grandsons and they couldn’t be more different.

There is a bit of a hint at a possible love triangle but I wasn’t that annoyed as they didn’t do that much with it, at least not yet. The oldest grandson is Nash and I still don’t really know how to feel about him. I definitely ship him with a certain someone though. Next up is Grayson, the heir apparent. I can say this about all the brothers, but he was quite mysterious as well. He seemed to be the broody type and I didn’t really like him at first. How ever, he definitely grew on me and now I want nothing but good things for him.

The more complicated a person’s strategy seemed, the less likely an opponent was to look for simple answers. If you could keep someone looking at your knight, you could take them with a pawn. Look past the details. Past the complications.

The third brother is Jameson and he (like Grayson) was a pretty typical YA boy. He is of the tortured type and once again I didn’t know if we would be able to trust him. By the end of the book I still hadn’t made up my mind completely, but for now I’ll say I like him haha. And lastly we have Xander (or officially Alexander) and he is possibly the best. I loved him from the start! While he didn’t have to same page time as some of the other brothers, he is part of the reason why I’m looking forward to the sequel so much. I hope he get’s more page time next time around <3.

All in all I just can’t say it more eloquently than this, I LOVED this book! Jennifer Lynn Barnes once again showed why she is one of my favorite authors out there and I hope more people pick up her books. She is a very solid YA author and her books are plain fun.

3 thoughts on “Review | The Inheritance Games – Jennifer Lynn Barnes

    1. That is so good to hear! I loved it and I love Jennifer Lynn Barnes, I would highly recommend reading some of her other books too. You might really enjoy Little White Lies as well <3

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge