Blog Tour | Triplicity – J. Mercer

J. Mercer is a new to me author, but when I read about her newest book, Triplicity, it sounded like an author I needed to look into. Thanks to the author and Xpresso Book Tours, I received an ARC to read and review. Today during my spot on the blog tour, I will tell you what I thought about Triplicity!

 

Triplicity
J. Mercer
Publication date: January 6th 2019
Genres: Mystery, Romance, Young Adult

One week on an Alaskan cruise, three teens, and an endless trail of lies.

Enter a series of thefts on board and they all fall under scrutiny. Though Navy acts a proper preacher’s daughter, she did end up with someone else’s purse in her hands, and Jesse knows way more than he should about what’s gone missing. Isaiah, however, is the one with motive—enough money and he could get back to his ranch. Each holds a piece of the truth, but exposing the thief could damn them all. They must navigate through the lies they’ve told, choose between standing together or saving themselves, and decide if innocence is worth facing their ugliest secrets.

*For readers of Kasie West and Jenny Han.*

Goodreads / Amazon

Review

Triplicity was described as a book for fans of Kasie West and Jenny Han. As a big contemporary fan, that definitely caught my attention. I’ve never read a book that takes place on a cruise ship and the element of theft and mystery had me interested.

I have to start off by saying that I love this author’s writing style. I flew through this book, because it was very pleasant to read. Triplicity is told through three POVs: Navy, Jesse and Isaiah. All of them have their own problems going on. All being the same age and assigned the same table, they all end up hanging out together.

I loved the three POV, because I felt that I got to know all three of the characters pretty well. The author gave us a lot of backstory, so I understood their actions and decisions a bit more. Navy, Jesse and Isaiah are far from perfect and know this. I don’t want to get into too much detail about each character, because I think this is a story where readers should learn as much as possible while reading.

There were a few things that bugged me though. During this book that are quite a few thefts that occur. I loved this element, but it felt to me that it just happened at times. Nothing happened with this part of the story until near the end! I would’ve loved to have seen this be more of the story instead of having the occassional suspect or event that got the characters to certain events.

Also, in this book there is a character who is constantly seen as gay even though he keeps telling them he isn’t. I really thought this was a bit too much. Whether he is gay or not, there is nothing wrong with who he loves. I get that it has to do with his backstory, but it didn’t sit well with me.

Triplicity also has a love triangle. I’m not much of a fan, but there were times that this was pretty interesting. One of the characters is after their first kiss and this has its own set of events. I liked that the author made it something special. Not just something to get over with. I agree with this! Everyone should have special first kiss.

At the end, it seemed that all characters were at peace with themselves. I loved how they developed. I would’ve loved an epilogue to see how they’re all doing after a few months, because I did really become invested in them.

If you’re looking for a book with great character development, an interesting setting, some mystery and a touch of romance, Triplicity is for you!

Author Bio:

J. Mercer grew up in Wisconsin where she walked home from school with her head in a book, filled notebooks with stories in junior high, then went to college for accounting and psychology only to open a dog daycare. She wishes she were an expert linguist, is pretty much a professional with regards to competitive dance hair (bunhawk, anyone?), and enjoys exploring with her husband–though as much as she loves to travel, she’s also an accomplished hermit. Perfect days include cancelled plans, rain, and endless hours to do with what she pleases. Find her on Facebook @jmercerbooks or online at www.jmercerbooks.com.

Website / Goodreads / Facebook

Tour Schedule

The tour for Triplicity runs from February 4th until February 9th. A lot of amazing blogs are participating during this blog tour. Click here for the full schedule. The links are updated daily!

 

GIVEAWAY!

There is a tour wide giveaway, that is international. You have a chance to win a $25 Amazon gift card. This giveaway ends February 14th!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

XBTBanner1

 While this story was a bit different than I expected, it was an interesting read! Have you ever read a book that takes place on a cruise ship? What are your thoughts on this setting?

One thought on “Blog Tour | Triplicity – J. Mercer

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge