Bookish Item | April TBR

Once again I’m shocked by how fast March flew by. I’m pretty happy with how well I’ve done with my March TBR (which you’ll see in our wrap up at the beginning of April). Today I want to talk about the books I’m planning on reading in April. Keep on reading if you want to know what books are on my TBR.

Group Reads

The Gilded Ones – Namina Forna

I actually had this one on my TBR before, but ended up not being able to fit it in. The Gilded Ones is now a group read for April in the TBR and Beyond group. I’m looking forward to finally reading it, because I’ve heard nothing but amazing things!

A Kingdom Flesh and Fire – Jennifer L. Armentrout

A Kingdom of Flesh and Fire is finally on my TBR!! This is another book I’ve been wanting to read since it released, but just got distracted. As I’m typing this I’m currently doing a reread of From Blood and Ash. Luckily, the wait won’t be long for the third book after I finish this one.

The Midnight Library – Matt Haig

Can you imagine going to a library and checking out a book that would show you what your life could’ve possibly looked like? I think that’s such an interesting concept and I’ve heard a lot of amazing things about The Midnight Library!

Among the Beasts & Briars – Ashley Poston

If I’m honest I definitely got pulled in by the cover when I saw this book. Even though I do have to say Among the Beasts & Briars sounds really interesting. This book released in October, but I just haven’t had the chance to pick it up. A group read this month is definitely going to help me pick this one up.

 

Book Tours/ARCs

The Accidental Apprentice – Amanda Foody

I’m definitely loving middle grade books and The Accidental Apprentice sounds like so much fun. Also, look at the stunning cover!! This will be one of the first books I read in April. I loved Ace of Shades written by this author, so I have high hopes.

Pride and Premeditation – Tirzah Price

Pride and Premeditation is recommended for fans of The Lady Janies and Stalking Jack the Ripper. I enjoyed both, so I need to know more. A retelling of Pride and Prejudice combined with a murder mystery? Yeas, please!

The Mary Shelley Club – Goldy Moldavsky

I’ve been looking for more YA thrillers and The Mary Shelley Club sounds like one that I’m going to love. A secret club of students always has promise of adventure, so I’m excited to give this one a go. Some early reviews I’ve seen have been really positive, so that’s a good sign.

Kate in Waiting – Becky Albertalli

Becky Albertalli is an author I really enjoy. Even though I’m a few books behind Kate in Waiting was a book I needed to get my hands on. Best friends crushing on the same guy is definitely going to lead to some interesting events. I have a feeling this will be one I can’t put down.

Sugar and Spite – Gail D. Villanueva

I have to start off by saying how much I love this cover. Sugar and Spite has potions and lessons if you can take away someone’s free will. That’s one thing I love about middle grade book. The lessons and how they’re explained is always a lot of fun.

The Dark Lord Clementine – Sarah Jean Horwitz

Our main character is being raised to become the Evil Overlord. That sounds pretty dark if I say so myself. When Clementine has to beat a curse it starts influencing the way she thinks. Does she really want to be dark? I have a feeling this is going to be a really fun adventure.

Unmasked Dreams – LJ Evans

LJ Evans has quickly become one of my favorite authors and Unmasked Dreams is a book I’ve been waiting for since we met the two main characters in a previous books. I’m preparing myself for this one, because she always knows how to hit you in all the feels!

Re-read

Captive Prince – C.S. Pacat

I read this one in 2017 and it’s definitely a darker book that’s not for everyone. My review on Goodreads even says I’m still not exactly sure of what I think of this book. If I’m honest, I don’t remember a lot, but I’ve heard that the second and third book are amazing and the trilogy gets better as it goes. It’s time for me to continue and finish these.

A Study in Charlotte – Brittany Cavallaro

Wow, it’s been 5 years since I read A Study in Charlotte. I enjoyed it, but just haven’t continued with the series and that needs to change. So I’m going to start over so I can get on with this series. I own all four books, so it’s time!

 

As you can see my TBR this month is mostly ARCs and group reads. I have two re-reads I’m hoping to get to in April as well, so I can finally continue with those series. I’m sure there will be a few more buddyreads added to this as the month goes on! Have you read any of these books? Let me know what you thought if you have! I’d love to know what you thought. What are you reading in April?

2 thoughts on “Bookish Item | April TBR

  1. You have some great books on your TBR! I loved The Gilded Ones & Pride and Premeditation. The Accidental Apprentice, Kate in Waiting, and Super and Spite were really good, too.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

CommentLuv badge