Wishlist Wednesday | Anticipated Releases July 2020

How are we talking about July releases already?!? Even though a lot is going on in the world, it’s still flying by! Normally it seems that the releases slow down a bit in the summer, but not this year. We have plenty of books we want to read. We did our research, but a lot of books have been delayed, so we hope we got them all right! Keep on reading for our anticipated July 2020 releases!

B*WITCH – Paige McKenzie (July 7th)

Two covens of teen witches coming together to unravel the mystery of another witch’s murder, this sounds amazing. I love the fact that there are two covens and of course I love the mystery aspect. Can’t wait to pick this one up.

Boyfriend Material – Alexis Hall (July 7th)

I’ve been seeing a lot of bloggers post reviews for this one and it sounds so good!! I love the fake relationship trope. Boyfriend Material sounds like a book that will make me laugh out loud and end up loving the characters!

Unravel the Dusk – Elizabeth Lim (July 7th)

Spin the Dawn is a book I finished this month and loved every minute of it! I’m so glad I ended up waiting awhile to read it, because now I barely have any waiting time to get the sequel. Unravel the Dusk is going to be a great adventure and I love this cover!

The Princess Will Save You – Sarah Henning (July 7th)

I think it will be a lot of fun to see the princess be the one saving everyone. It’ll be a fun twist of the classic take we see in a lot of fantasy stories! I have a feeling The Princess Will Save You is a book for me.

Accidental – Alex Richards (July 7th)

Accidental isn’t a book I’ve heard a lot of people talk about yet, but it sounds interesting. I know this is going to be a really intense read, but a really good one.

Girl, Serpent, Thorn – Melissa Bashardoust (July 7th)

I actually have an eARC of this one, I should really pick it up soon. If I’m correct this is a LGTB+ retelling of a Persian folktale and I’m here for it. There are way to many retellings of the same stories and I’m always excited to find a retelling of a story I didn’t know before.

Cinderella is Dead – Kalynn Bayron (July 7th)

Apparently this is described as queer black girls overthrowing the patriarchy and who wouldn’t want to read that? Also it’s a Cinderella retelling, but set 200 years after her story ends. It sounds so good and I can’t wait to read it.

The Damned – Renee Ahdieh (July 7th)

I’m actually reading this one at the moment! The Beautiful was such a great book in my opinion and I’m so excited to continue this story. I have no idea where the story will be going but I will gladly go along for the ride.

You’re Next – Kylie Schachte (July 7th)

This mystery sounds very interesting. A girl who keeps finding dead bodies, already got me there, investigates the murder of her ex. And of course she discovers a plot to put herself and everyone she loves on the list of who’s next. I’m excited to see how this is executed.

Burn Our Bodies Down – Rory Power (July 7th)

To be honest, the synopsis confuses me a bit and I’m not really sure what this one is about. But everyone has been raving about Rory Power, I love the cover, and I just want to see what the fuss is about haha.

All These Monsters – Amy Tintera (July 7th)

The main character in this story joins an international monster-fighting squad and honestly, that’s all I need to know haha. I have a ton of Amy Tintera books on my TBR and it’s about time I finally read one!

Loveless – Alice Oseman (July 9th)

So far, I’ve only read Heartstopper by this author, but I hear nothing but amazing things about Alice Oseman’s books. Loveless has a main character that has never had a crush on anyone, but is trying to figure out what it all means. I think this is something we need to see more in YA books.

He Must Like You – Danielle Younge-Ullman (July 14th)

This sounds like a very important read! I think it will be pretty emotional and very feminist. The reviews I’ve seen are all super positive so I have high hopes for this. Hopefully it’s a bit similar to The Exact Opposite of Okay in regards to the important messages and the tone.

The Extraordinaries – T.J. Klune (July 14th)

The Extraordinaries is pitched as Fangirl meets Renegades. That definitely had me curious. Also, the main character is a fanfiction author. I love when characters love books or have a fandom, so that made me want to read as well! I have an ARC and really need to read it soon!

Mayhem – Estelle Laure (July 14th)

Mayhem is The Lost Boys meets The Craft and takes place in the late ’80s. Sign me up! Luckily I did, because I’m on the blog tour. Keep an eye on the blog at the beginning of my July for my review!

Now and When – Sarah Bennett Wealer (July 14th)

Stumbling upon a website that that tells you everything about your future sounds like something really complicated. Part of me would love to know, but I think the future is something you need to discover as you go. I’m really curious about how this story will play out!

The Storyteller’s Daughter – Victoria McCombs (July 14th)

A Rumpelstiltskin retelling! I need it! Also, our MC is the only person without a Gift in a world very everybody is born with a Gift. I’m excited to see what the author did with Rumpelstilskins story.

Ghost Wood Song – Erica Waters (July 21st)

Our MC can call ghosts from the grave with her father’s fiddle but thinks it only brings trouble. Until her brother is accused of murder. How cool does this fiddle sound? And I’m excited for the murder mystery part!

Shielded – KayLynn Flanders (July 21st)

Shielded is for fans of Sorcery of Thorns and Furyborn. I’ve only read Sorcery of Thorns, but it’s one I really enjoyed. An arranged marriage, royalty and magic are all elements I love in fantasy books. This is another one I have an ARC of, so I will be reviewing in July!

More Than Maybe – Erin Hahn (July 21st)

More Than Maybe was originally supposed to release a couple of months ago, but was delayed. Podcasts, music and a blogger were the only three words I needed to know before wanting to read this book. Again, I have an ARC of this one and will be diving in soon!

Splinters of Scarlet – Emily Bain Murphy (July 21st)

This historical YA fantasy is set in Denmark and I don’t think I’ve read a YA book set there yet. Magic has a consequence in this story and I always appreciate that. Of course there’s a deadly secret and a sibling our MC would do anything for haha. I’m just excited for this new setting!

The Mysterious Messenger – Gilbert Ford (July 21st)

A Middle Grade urban fantasy with a young psychic. Yes please! Maria’s mom is a con-artist while Maria herself can actually communicate with the dead. Two tropes I love, you know I’ll put this on my TBR.

10 Things I Hate About Pinky – Sandhya Menon (July 21st)

I wasn’t too sure about this one but I ended up getting the eARC and I’m excited to try this one. Sandhya’s books are very popular but they never grabbed my attention. This one does sound like something I would enjoy though and I want to give it a chance.

The Unadoptables – Hannah Tooke (July 23rd)

The Unadoptables is a book I posted about a couple of months ago, but that was before I knew it was delayed. This book is finally releasing in July and it’s still one I’m really excited about. Part of the book takes place in The Netherlands and that makes me want to read it even more.

A Wicked Magic – Sasha Laurens (July 28th)

The Chilling Adventures of Sabrina meets The Craft. Once again, a description I can’t help but find very appealing. I love CAOS so much and will pick up anything that’s even remotely similar. It also seems to have strong friendship themes, a favorite thing of mine.

The Mall – Megan McCafferty (July 28th)

I’ve talked about The Mall a few times on the blog since I heard about it. The malls in the States are one of the few things I miss about living there. Also, this takes place in years that I grew up in malls as well. I think this will be the perfect summer read!

Today Tonight Tomorrow – Rachel Lynn Solomon (July 28th)

Romantic comedies are something I love and enemies to lovers even more. Today Tonight Tomorrow sounds like a story that is right up my alley. And look at how cute that cover is!

I Kissed Alice – Anna Birch (July 28th)

All I needed to know was that is for fans of Simon vs. the Homosapiens Agenda and Fangirl. I love both and so it’s only natural that I need I Kissed Alice. A few friends of mine have already had the chance to read it and loved it. And again, mentions of fanfiction definitely caught my eye!

The Faithless Hawk – Margaret Owen (July 28th)

As I’m typing this, I’m reading The Merciful Crow and really enjoying the story. Again, I have to say I’m happy I waited to read this closer to the release of the sequel. I honestly haven’t read the synopsis yet, because I don’t want to accidentally spoil myself, haha.

The Friend Scheme – Cale Dietrich (July 28th)

The son of a mobster crime kingpin and the son of a police commissioner fall in love. Perfect! Get me this book right now haha. I love everything that has to do with kids of mobsters and I’m very excited to see that part of the story play out.

As you can see, July is going to be filled with a lot of books that sound amazing!! What books are you looking forward to? If we missed any you think we need to know about, let us know in the comments!

2 thoughts on “Wishlist Wednesday | Anticipated Releases July 2020

    1. Oseman really is amazing!! I just started Girl, Serpent, Thorn last night and it’s good so far.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge