Can’t Wait Wednesday | You Had Me at Hola – Alexis Daria

We wanted to do another bookish meme on Wednesday and after doing Can’t Wait Wednesday a few times we decided that would be a fun one to bring around more often! About twice a month you’ll see this meme on our blog.

Can’t-Wait Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Wishful Endings, to spotlight and discuss the books we’re excited about that we have yet to read. Generally they’re books that have yet to be released. It’s based on Waiting on Wednesday, hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine.

Can’t Wait Wednesday | You Had Me at Hola – Alexis Daria

RITA
® Award Winning author Alexis Daria brings readers an unforgettable, hilarious rom-com set in the drama-filled world of telenovelas—perfect for fans of

Jane the Virgin

and The Kiss Quotient.

Leading Ladies do not end up on tabloid covers. 
After a messy public breakup, soap opera darling Jasmine Lin Rodriguez finds her face splashed across the tabloids. When she returns to her hometown of New York City to film the starring role in a bilingual romantic comedy for the number one streaming service in the country, Jasmine figures her new “Leading Lady Plan” should be easy enough to follow—until a casting shake-up pairs her with telenovela hunk Ashton Suárez. 
Leading Ladies don’t need a man to be happy
After his last telenovela character was killed off, Ashton is worried his career is dead as well. Joining this new cast as a last-minute addition will give him the chance to show off his acting chops to American audiences and ping the radar of Hollywood casting agents. To make it work, he’ll need to generate smoking-hot on-screen chemistry with Jasmine. Easier said than done, especially when a disastrous first impression smothers the embers of whatever sexual heat they might have had. 
Leading Ladies do not rebound with their new costars. 
With their careers on the line, Jasmine and Ashton agree to rehearse in private. But rehearsal leads to kissing, and kissing leads to a behind-the-scenes romance worthy of a soap opera. While their on-screen performance improves, the media spotlight on Jasmine soon threatens to destroy her new image and expose Ashton’s most closely guarded secret.

 


You Had Me at Hola by Alexis Daria
on 04/08/2020
Goodreads

Who even am I? I’m excited for an adult romance, can you believe it? And yes, this is Isabelle writing this post, not Candyce haha. I’m slowly getting more into romance books, YA, NA and Adult! And this is one of the books I’m super excited for.

The title, You Had Me at Hola, was the first thing that peaked my interest. I think it sounds super cute and the book also has a gorgeous cover! Next up, I saw this : perfect for fans of Jane the Virgin and The Kiss QuotientI LOVED Jane the Virgin and was pleasantly surprised by The Kiss Quotient. So this was another big plus for me.

And than lastly we have these 3 sentences from the synopsis:

Leading Ladies do not end up on tabloid covers.
Leading Ladies don’t need a man to be happy.
Leading Ladies do not rebound with their new costars.

I honestly can’t wait until it’s august, I want to lose myself in this book so badly! This seems like the perfect summer read to me. I can already see myself laying by a pool and reading this book in one go. What about you?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

CommentLuv badge