Royal Update #26

We thought it was time for a fun new post every week. In the Royal Update one of us updates you about our personal life, bookish news, what we’re reading, watching and listening to and anything else that might apply to this post. We thought it would be fun to share a bit more about our personal lives and hope you think so too!

Nothing really to mention here. It’s been the same as it has been the past few weeks! Things are slowly opening up here and it’s weird. Part of me is happy about that, but part of me also realizes this can cause everything to increase again. So fingers crossed that people still think before doing things.

I did visit the bookstore last week. It felt so weird, but really good to do something “normal”. When I went it wasn’t busy at all, they have routes set up to walk in and there’s plexiglass where their employees are working. This is very different to my last visit, but I felt safe and I was happy I could support my bookstore!

This weekend we’re going to go visit friends that live in the same city as us (if everyone is symptom free of course). It’s been so long. Even if it is just sitting outside and talking, it’ll be nice to see them again!

Once again, I have received a few ARCs since my last post two weeks ago. I don’t think I’m ever going to have a week without anything new, haha. So I added the following books that I received from authors:

Throne of Embers – Nina Walker This is the third and final book in the Dragon Blessed trilogy. I really enjoyed the first two, so I’m excited to read the conclusion of this story.

Betting on Sin – Maria Ann Green For me, Maria Ann Green will be a new to me author. A couple of authors that I’ve reviewed for before promoted her and the book sounds like something I’ll enjoy. I always love discovering new authors!

Cheesy on the Eyes – Teagan Hunter Ever since Teagan Hunter started with this series, I’ve wanted Sully to have his own story. Cheesy on the Eyes is finally the book I’ve been asking for. This will be a treat.

Taking His Shot – Kendall Ryan I can’t believe this is the final book in the Hot Jocks series! They’ve all been fun so far, it’s going to be sad seeing the series end.

I’ve also received a few ARCs for upcoming blog tours! I signed up for B*Witch on my own. For the others Algonquin Young Readers approached me to see if I wanted to be on the tour. I feel so honored when I get e-mails like that.

Changeling & The Unready Queen – William Ritter I’ve been reading more middle grade books lately and a friend of mine was a fan of Changeling. The Unready Queen is the sequel releasing at the end of June, so I’ll be reading both. I think these books will be fun adventures.

B*Witch – Paige McKenzie & Nancy Ohlin This book is described as one for fans of Buffy the Vampire Slayer and Mean Girls. That’s an interesting combination. I can’t wait to read this one.

In the Role of Brie Hutchens – Nicole Melleby Another MG ARC that sounds amazing! After reading the synopsis I have a feeling this is going to be an important story for this age group. It seems to deal with some sensitive subjects, but I’m curious to see how the author tells this story.

Reading so much is a lot of fun, but this part of the royal update always takes me the longest to do, haha. Since my last royal update I’ve read Girls Save the World in This One, Other Words for Home, We Come Apart, The Bone Charmer, In an Absent Dream, The Map From Here to There, Aurora Burning, Come Tumbling Down, Avenged by Love and Camp.

As I’m typing this I’m reading The First Score, Storm and Fury, The Court of Miracles, The Dead Queens Club, The Iron Flower and Incendiary.

In all honesty, I completely forgot to keep track of bookish news this weeks. I have a couple of things to share though!

I actually have something to show you, but it’s not for myself. It’s just too fun not to share. I’m not sure if I’ve ever really talked about Dungeons and Dragons here, but Isabelle and I do a campaign with a few friends. My boyfriend is the dungeon master and when I saw this mug I couldn’t help but grab it for him.

Never Have I Ever is a new show on Netflix and I binge watched season 1 in one afternoon. I should mention the episodes are only 30 minutes, haha. It was a Sunday well spent. This show had me laughing and in tears. I really hope it gets a second season!

After a time with only listening to Glee songs and Home Free, I’ve been listening to Lady Antebellum’s newest album. It’s really good and I love their music. And once again, I can’t get the playlist to appear in the post, but if you click on the link you’ll go to my playlist.

https://open.spotify.com/playlist/4Z01EgE3KvCyMZfdIYkaez?si=-0Dkm-GMSDin3eHJj_7D9g

So that’s my Royal Update for this week! How has your week been? Read any good books or watch something interesting you think I should know about? Let me know in the comments!

2 thoughts on “Royal Update #26

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge