Down the TBR Hole #82

These past two weeks have been good! I only added one new book to my want-to-read shelf on Goodreads. I did also read a book that was on this shelf, so I’d say that’s progress!

Down the TBR Hole was originally created over at Lost in a Story. It looked like a fun and productive way to finally make a dent in that Goodreads TBR. I went through my want-to-read shelf a little while ago but I think I was still to kind on a lot of books. Let’s see what I’ll make of it this time around. I decided to go with 10 books at a time so lets get started!

It works like this:

  • Go to your goodreads to-read shelf.
  • Order on ascending date added.
  • Take the first 5 (or 10 or 15 or 20, if you’re feeling adventurous) books
  • Read the synopses of the books
  • Decide: keep it or should it go?
  • Keep track of where you left off so you can pick up there next week!

Current “to-read” shelf: 940 (my last post ended at 939. So in 2 weeks I added 1 book. It could’ve been a lot worse.)

Raybearer – Jordan Ifueko

Raybearer is a book I’ve heard amazing things about, but one I just haven’t gotten around to. The duology is now complete, so it’s a good time to sit down and read it. Also, the US and UK covers are stunning.

Keep

Maya and the Rising Dark – Rena Barron

This middle grade fantasy book sounds amazing and it sounds like Maya is going to have quite the adventure. Part of me thinks it may also get a bit emotional. The reviews seem to be really positive, so I’ll have to pick this one up soon.

Keep

Navigating the Stars – Maria V. Snyder

Navigating the Stars is a book I saw everywhere I want to say last year. I don’t read a lot of science fiction, but I have a feeling this one would be right up my alley.

Keep

You Love Me – Caroline Kepnes

I actually loved the first two books in this You series and I’m surprised I haven’t read You Love Me yet. This was definitely the first series I read that was a bit darker. I’m still on the first season of the TV adaptation. This one may be fun to read on a dark and stormy day.

Keep

The Theft of Sunlight – Intisar Khanani

The first book in this series, Thorn, was amazing and definitely a story that deserves more hype. If I remember correctly this is a companion novel. but one I really need to read.

Keep

Sixteen Scandals – Sophie Jordan

Historical fiction is another genre I don’t read a lot of, but want to. Sixteen Scandals is recommended for fans of My Lady Jane and I’m definitely a fan. Also, I love the illustrated cover.

Keep

Baby & Solo – Lisbeth Posthuma

Baby & Solo caught my attention, because it takes place in 1990s and the main character works at a video-store. I love the 90s nostalgia, so I’m still really excited about this one.

Keep

People We Meet on Vacation – Emily Henry

Out of all the books written by Emily Henry this is the only one I haven’t read yet. I did start it, but got distracted by other books, haha. I’m a fan of friends to lovers romances, so I’ll have to sit down with People We Meet on Vacation soon!!

Keep

Forget This Ever Happened – Cassandra Rose Clarke

Another case of I’ve read this book, but I have a different edition on my want-to-read shelf. I actually listened to the graphic audiobook and loved listening to it with all the sound effects. Forget This Ever Happened was a weird story, but it kept my attention.

Remove

In a Garden Burning Gold – Rory Power

In a Garden Burning Gold is Rory Power’s first adult fantasy after writing young adult horror. I love the cover and have to say the story is intriguing. There are quite a few mixed reviews, so I’m still on the fence, but I’ll leave it for now.

Keep

 

Removal Percentage: 10%
Current “to-read” shelf: 939

So I didn’t do well this week, but there were so many interesting books in the ten I talked about this week. What did you think of my choices? Would you have chosen differently on any of these? Let me know in the comments! I’d love to hear from you.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

CommentLuv badge