Review | The Holiday Swap – Maggie Knox

Christmas is here! Merry Christmas to everyone that celebrates. I figured with it being Christmas I would talk about a holiday themed book. Today I want to talk about The Holiday Swap. Keep on reading to find out more about this book and what I thought.

The International Bestseller–A feel-good, holiday rom com about identical twins who swap lives twelve days before Christmas–perfect for fans of Christina Lauren’s In a Holidaze and Josie Silver’s One Day in December

All they want for Christmas is a different life.

When chef Charlie Goodwin gets hit on the head on the L.A. set of her reality baking show, she loses a lot more than consciousness; she also loses her ability to taste and smell–both critical to her success as show judge. Meanwhile, Charlie’s identical twin, Cass, is frantically trying to hold her own life together back in their quaint mountain hometown while running the family’s bustling bakery and dealing with her ex, who won’t get the memo that they’re over.

With only days until Christmas, a desperate Charlie asks Cass to do something they haven’t done since they were kids: switch places. Looking for her own escape from reality, Cass agrees. But temporarily trading lives proves more complicated than they imagined, especially when rugged firefighter Jake Greenman and gorgeous physician assistant Miguel Rodriguez are thrown into the mix. Will the twins’ identity swap be a recipe for disaster, or does it have all the right ingredients for getting their lives back on track?

Review

If you’re a fan of Hallmark Christmas movies I can tell you that The Holiday Swap is the perfect book for you. Once you start this story it’s clear to see where it’s headed, but that’s what I need in books like this one. I’m definitely glad I picked up this book during the holiday season.

Our main characters are Cass and Charlie (twin sisters). Charlie is in LA on a baking reality show and Cass is in the hometown running the family bakery. Things get turned upside down when Charlie loses her sense of taste after getting hit in the head. She thinks she can save her job by asking her sister to take her place. What could go wrong? They used to do it all the time as a child? Well of course things go really wrong, haha. It was so much fun reading about them trying to cover that they weren’t who they said they were. From lying about being able to do certain things (like surf) or hiding a tattoo it can definitely be hard to keep everything straight. This definitely gave us some laugh out loud moments.

Cass and Charlie are both really interesting characters. I love that they’re twins and have their similarities, but also their differences. Switching places really made them change the way they looked at things and their own lives. Even with all the hiccups it definitely made them both better people who really went after what they wanted.

Seeing how a lot of the book takes place on the set of a baking reality show and at a bakery (and sometimes even a restaurant) I have to warn you that The Holiday Swap will make you hungry. A lot of amazing dishes and desserts that make you wish you were there while they were being made. It definitely had me wanting to bake after I read parts of this book.

And we can’t forget the romance. Jake and Miguel are definitely interesting love interests and I love how things developed during the story. For the readers who like more spice in their books you won’t find that here, but there is a really wholesome love story and it’s so much fun to read. Both characters are totally different, but that makes it even more fun. The only thing that bugged me was how intense Miguel was a times. It was a bit too much for me here and there.

All in all, this was such a cozy read that’s perfect for the holidays. It was everything I love in a holiday read.

The Holiday Swap was a fast and fun holiday read! And I have to say that it definitely made me hungry when all the food was mentioned. Do you have any favorite holiday treats? Let me know what they are in the comments! I’d love to hear from you.

One thought on “Review | The Holiday Swap – Maggie Knox

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

CommentLuv badge