TTT #188 | Books I Loved that Made Me Want More Books Like Them

We have been having fun with Top Ten Tuesday, so we decided we will do one every week. This bookish meme was hosted by The Broke and the Bookish, and has been going since June 2010! Since January 2018 Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by That Artsy Reader Girl.

This week’s topic is Books I Loved that Made Me Want More Books Like Them. The wording is a bit off, but the idea is that you talk about a book that made you want to read more books like it for example in the same specific genre or about a certain topic. So let’s jump in!

1.Six of Crows – Leigh Bardugo
heists

This was the first book that came to mind when I saw this topic. As soon as I read this one, I wanted to read allll of the heists books haha. I haven’t read that many yet but whenever I see a heist mentioned I immediately add the book to my TBR.

2. All Our Yesterdays – Christina Terrill
time travel

This book is so underrated!! I wish more people read it. This was a great time travel novel and I have been wanting to read more ever since. I currently have a couple of time travel novels on my TBR and I’m super excited to read them. There was supposed to be a sequel to All Our Yesterdays but it never happened unfortunately.

3. The Hunger Games – Suzanne Collins
YA dystopian

I just had to include this one. This was my first entry into YA dystopian novels. Before reading The Hunger Games I didn’t really know about YA books (or the online community for that matter) and afterwards I went online to find similar books. And oh my, did I find a lot haha.

4. We Were Liars – E. Lockhart
Untrustworthy Narrator

This was so good! The main character has issues remembering what exactly happened last summer. This makes for such a thrilling read and I have been trying to find books like it ever since. There are different reasons for a narrator to be untrustworthy and I love them all haha.

5. Fangirl – Rainbow Rowell
University Setting

This was one of the first times I really related to a character, and it was a wonderful experience. I also loved the university setting and want to read more like it. Unfortunately I haven’t read that many books set at uni’s yet so I you have any recommendations, I’d love to hear it.

6. Dangerous Girls – Abigail Haas
*spoiler topic haha*

This one is a bit harder to describe haha. It starts with me loving YA mystery thrillers but is has another element I loved. I won’t say what the element is exactly because that would be a spoiler. But I can say I absolutely loved the ending and I have been looking for books just like it. Which is hard because looking for it might mean you find spoilers haha.

7. To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before – Jenny Han
Fake dating

One of my favorite contemporary novels! I loved this so so much and have been wanting to read more fake dating books ever since. They are just so much fun and I don’t I’ll ever get enough of them.

8. Before I Fall – Lauren Oliver
“Groundhog Day”

While not everyone seems to love this one, I really enjoyed it. And I especially loved the repeating day aspect, or the Groundhog Day trope. It’s so interesting to see a character relive the same day and dealing with that.

9. The School For Good and Evil – Soman Chainani
MG Fantasy

This was so CUTE! I adore this series and can’t believe I still have an unread instalment of the series haha. Ever since reading this one I have been reading a bunch of MG books, mostly fantasy but other genres as well.

10. Code Name Verity – Elizabeth Wein
YA Historical Fiction

Tears streaming down my face while reading this one…. This is one amazing read! I always loved reading historical fiction but this one put me on the path of YA historical fiction. While I haven’t read that much yet, I do hope to read a lot more!

Some Recent TTT Posts:

TTT #183 | My Ten Most Recent Reads
TTT #184| Books with Nature on the Cover
TTT #185 | Book Titles That Are Complete Sentences
TTT #186| Book Quotes That Are Inspirational To Me
TTT #187 | YA Thrillers I Want to Read

These were 10 books that made me want to read more like them! Have you read any of these? And did you like them? If you have any recommendations, I would love to hear them! Let me know down below!

6 thoughts on “TTT #188 | Books I Loved that Made Me Want More Books Like Them

  1. So if you liked We Were Liars and don’t mind reading adult fiction, I would highly recommend reading The Lace Reader by Brunonia Barry. Don’t look at reviews or anything. It’s more fun without. I have read it 3 times because it surprises me in new ways each time.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge