Wishlist Wednesday | Anticipated Releases April 2021

March 2020 felt like it took forever to be over, but this year it’s like we blinked and it’s just about over. It’s the end of the month and that means it’s time to start looking at new releases. What are our anticipated April releases? Will our bank accounts be angry? Keep on reading to see what books releasing next month that we want to read!

The Murder Game – Carrie Doyle (April 6th)

Boarding school, murder, possible framing, and a best friend trying to find the true killer. Sounds like my kind of read! I love YA murder mysteries and the added element of a boarding school is a big plus.

Blessed Monsters – Emily A. Duncan (April 6th)

Aaaaaah, I’m so so so excited for this one! I loved the first two books and I can’t wait to find out how it all ends. This is Emily’s first series so I have no idea where her ending will take us. I have high hopes though!

Kisses and Croissants – Anne-Sophie Jouhanneau (April 6th)

This sounds like a really cute YA romance. I like that it is set in Paris, I love France, we have a second home there so I go there a lot. And I love that it has to do with ballet, as I just to do ballet myself!

Somewhere Between Bitter and Sweet – Laekan Zea Kemp (April 6th)

I’m getting hungry from just reading the synopsis, I can only imagine how hungry I will be once I’m reading this book haha.

Zoe Rosenthal Is Not Lawful Good – Nancy Werlin (April 6th)

Yes, give me all the nerdy books! This has a Con setting and I really enjoy those. I loved going to one and want to go to more once we can again. It’s so much reading about them and I’m sure this book will be a lot of fun.

The Infinity Courts – Akemi Dawn Bowman (April 6th)

I love the concept of this book. When you die you go to the place Infinity. Except I don’t think the main character expected to have to fight evil to stop the human race from being wiped out after being murdered. Definitely seems like a science fiction I need to read.

House of Hollow – Krystal Sutherland (April 6th)

House of Hollow is a book I’ve heard nothing but amazing things about so far. Horror isn’t a genre I read a lot of, but I’ll definitely be getting this one. The Hollow sisters disappeared when they were younger, but don’t remember a thing. This is going to be interesting.

The Flipside of Perfect – Liz Reinhardt (April 6th)

Our main characters has two different lives. The one she lives during the school year and the other that comes out when she spends the summer with her father. These worlds end up colliding and it sounds like it’s going to get complicated. Definitely a contemporary that I have to read. I have an e-arc I’ll be reading in the near future.

What Beauty There Is – Cory Anderson (April 6th)

I’ve actually already read What Beauty There Is. It’s definitely a dark book and even though it’s a thriller it wasn’t what I was expecting at all. Days after finishing this book and I’ve still been thinking about it. There are a lot of triggers in this book, so it may be good to look them up before reading this one.

The Cost of Knowing – Brittney Morris (April 6th)

This is going to be one heartbreaking book. I’m already getting my tissues ready! Brittney’s previous book was so powerful but it also made me cry so this new one is just going to break me probably.

Pride and Premeditation – Tirzah Price (April 6th)

I have to start off by saying that I love the cover for this book. Also, I won’t say no to a murder mystery. It’s described as perfect for fans of Stalking Jack the Ripper and Lady Janies. Both of them were really good, so Pride and Premeditation has to be as well. I’m participating in the book tour in April. So keep an eye out for my review.

My Epic Spring Break – Kristin Rockaway (April 6th)

This is another YA contemporary that sounds really cute. A girl who has focused on school and wants to find love during her last high school spring break. Also has a possibly not so unrequited love interest and a prankster childhood best friend. Might be a love triangle but I do like the sound of both.

You Love Me – Caroline Kepnes (April 6th)

I loved the first two books in this series even though they’re very dark and twisted. This has been adapted as a Netflix show and I’ve enjoyed what I’ve seen so far. It’s going to be interesting being back in the mind of this very dark character.

The Intimacy Experiment – Rosie Danan (April 6th)

Okay, so I haven’t read The Roommate yet, but I know I’m going to love it. The Intimacy Experiment is the next companion novel in this series and sounds like something right up my alley. This really makes me want to read The Roommate right away.

The Prison Healer – Lynette Noni (April 13th)

This fantasy sounds amazing, a prison, a healer, a rebel queen and a deadly trial. Give it to me now! Also, it looks like the sequel releases in October so it’s not that long of a wait after the inevitable cliffhanger.

The Mary Shelley Club – Goldy Moldavsky (April 13th)

A YA thriller with a mysterious club obsessed with horror. I have a feeling that’s going to get dark and spooky. I’m actually on the blog tour for this book, so keep an eye out for my review in April.

Zatanna: The Jewel of Gravesend – Alys Arden (April 13th)

This graphic novel is about a girl that is stuck in a magical rivalry and that sounds very exciting to be honest. The story is set in New York and the cover is beautiful. I’m sure the inside art work will be equally great.

These Feathered Flames – Alexandra Overy (April 20th)

This is a queer retelling of the Firebird which is a Russian folktale. I love reading retellings of stories I don’t know that well. The synopsis sounds very intriguing and I can’t wait to discover this magic system.

The Half Orphan’s Handbook – Joan F. Smith (April 20th)

I have a feeling this is going to break my heart, because grief isn’t an easy subject. The Half Orphan’s Handbook may be a harder read for many people, because it deals with the aftermath of suicide and grief. I do think this could also be a beautiful story.

In Deeper Waters – F.T. Lukens (April 20th)

I’ll always say yes to pirates in books! Especially when there are gay pirates. This is going to be a really interesting adventure. At least, if the book turns out to be as amazing as I think it will be.

The Key to You and Me – Jaye Robin Brown (April 20th)

There are a lot of contemporaries releasing this month and this is another one I’m really excited about. The Key to You and Me is something I need in my life and lucky for me I have an e-arc. I’ll be reading this soon.

Where Secrets Lie – Eva V. Gibson (April 20th)

Thrillers are something I’ve been wanting more of and Where Secrets Lie seems to be giving me what I want. Also, it takes place in a small town. That always makes things interesting.

She Drives Me Crazy – Kelly Quindlen (April 20th)

Queer enemies to lovers! Yes please. This was also recommended to fans of Becky Albertalli and Casey McQuiston. It’s not only enemies to lovers but it also has fake dating and both girls are on sport teams I believe.

Witches Steeped in Gold – Ciannon Smart (April 20th)

This is a Jamaican inspired fantasy with enemy witches who enter a deadly alliance. I don’t really need to know anything else to be honest. It sounds pretty dark and I think it is exactly the kind of fantasy story I like.

Kate in Waiting – Becky Albertalli (April 20th)

I’ve really enjoyed all of Becky’s books so I would read this without knowing what its about to be honest. While I’m not completely sure this one is my kind of contemporary you can bet I do want to read it. Hopefully it will be a pleasant surprise!

What’s Not to Love – Emily Wibberley & Austin Siegemund Broka (April 20th)

I got a couple books by this author duo for Christmas, but What’s Not to Love seems to be another one I need on my shelf. Nerdy drama? Yes, please! This sounds like a contemporary I’ll fly through and a great summer read!

Slingshot – Mercedes Helnwein (April 27th)

All I really needed to know was that this book takes place at a boarding school. That’s one of my favorite bookish settings. There also seems to be a romance I have a feeling I’m going to enjoy.

Fade Into the Bright – Jessica Koosed Etting & Alyssa Schwartz (April 27th)

Fade Into the Bright sounds like a book that’s going to make me cry, but that will also be beautiful. I don’t think I’ve read a book with Huntington’s disease involved. Also, look how stunning this cover is!

The End of Men – Christina Bard-Sweeney (April 27th)

I’ve had this eARC for months now and I’m so ashamed I still haven’t read this yet. The title drew me in right away and the synopsis sounds amazing as well. I guess I have about another month to read this ;).

Dial A for Aunties – Jesse Q Suntanto (April 27th)

I recently wrote a Can’t Wait Wednesday post for this one. The title sounds wonderful and the synopsis sounds like this will be a hilarious and ridiculous and just plain fun book.

As you can see April has quite a few releases that we’re interesting in reading! There really are so many books and just not enough time. What books are you looking forward to in April? Did you miss any we need to know about? Let us know in the comments! We’d love to hear from you.

4 thoughts on “Wishlist Wednesday | Anticipated Releases April 2021

  1. I’m also looking forward to reading Blessed Monsters. Kisses and Croissants sounds really cute, I love allow things French!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

CommentLuv badge