Review | Heartstopper vol 3 – Alice Oseman

As you all know, yesterday was Valentine’s Day. And after reading Heartstopper last year on Valentine’s Day, I figured it would be fitting to read the third volume on Valentine’s Day this year. It’s a graphic novel so it’s a super quick read and I already written my review haha. So let’s jump in!
There are some spoilers for the first two volumes of Heartstopper

Review | Heartstopper vol 3 – Alice Oseman

Boy meets boy. Boys become friends. Boys fall in love. An LGBTQ+ graphic novel about life, love, and everything that happens in between: this is the third volume of HEARTSTOPPER, for fans of The Art of Being Normal, Holly Bourne and Love, Simon.
'Absolutely delightful. Sweet, romantic, kind. Beautifully paced. I loved this book.' RAINBOW ROWELL, author of Carry On
Charlie didn't think Nick could ever like him back, but now they're officially boyfriends. Nick's even found the courage to come out to his mum.
But coming out isn't just something that happens once - there's Nick's older brother, and a school trip to Paris, not to mention all the other friends and family - and life can be hard, even with someone who loves you by your side. As their feelings get more serious, Charlie and Nick will need each other more than ever before.
Heartstopper is about love, friendship, loyalty and mental illness. It encompasses all the small stories of Nick and Charlie's lives that together make up something larger, which speaks to all of us.
'The queer graphic novel we wished we had at high school.' Gay Times
This is the third volume of Heartstopper, which has now been optioned for television by See-Saw Films.


Heartstopper: Volume Three (Heartstopper, #3) by Alice Oseman
on 06/02/2020
Pages: 384
Goodreads

I’ll just start by saying I absolutely loved this volume! You might remember that volume 1 & 2 were my favorite graphic novels I read in 2019 and I’m so happy this one lived up to the first two. We follow Nick and Charlie as their relationship develops and they get to know each other better. They’re going on a school trip to Paris and that’s most of the ‘plot’ in this volume.

The art is very easy to digest. It’s all black and white so no distracting colors. There are also little background details in most of the frames. A couple of the frames are more details but a lot just show a character or two. This makes it super easy to read through the story!

I’ve come to realize this series has a bit of a sports element and that is something I love. In this volume we don’t see that much of the rugby but I would love to see more in the coming volumes. This part of story really focusses on the Paris trip. I loved all the cultural elements that were included. You see a ton of Paris highlights and famous building. I really appreciated the burned down Notre Dame. It’s so sad that happens but I ‘liked’ that it was shown this way, it gives it a little bit of extra attention. I also loved seeing Shakespears & Company quickly. My mom and I are planning a trip to Paris in the coming month or so and I just loved seeing all these bits and pieces of the city.

This story was cuteness overload again! It was super cute and had me laughing out loud multiple times. There is a lot of diversity in this series, we get differences in gender, sexuality, mental health, race and body type. It’s all done very naturally and fits the story super well. I was especially happy to see the mental health touched upon. It was mentioned a couple of times in this volume and I think it will play a bigger role in the next volume. I also loved seeing the characters being super supportive of each other.

Nick and Charlie have a dream relationship in my opinion. No not everything goes perfectly or is perfect but they figure it out together. They’re there for each other and provide a safe and loving environment for the other. I absolutely adore them together and think everyone deserves a relationship like this.

We see a lot more of the side characters in this volume and that was great. I really like basically all of the characters and especially Charlie’s friend group is wonderful. And with this I quickly have to mention I loved the alcohol scene haha. It was hilarious! You will know what I mean when you read it haha. Overall I laughed a ton while reading this volume. This story tugs on your heartstrings, makes you swoon and get’s you to laugh a lot! I would highly highly recommend this series to everyone <3

2 thoughts on “Review | Heartstopper vol 3 – Alice Oseman

    1. I would highly recommend this series! In my opinion it’s a great way to get into reading graphic novels!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge