Review| Dear Adam – Kelsie Stelting

Kelsie Stelting is on my favorite authors list, so when I heard about Dear Adam, I was really excited! There hasn’t been a book by this author that has disappointed me yet, so I had high expectations! The author was kind enough to send me an ARC, so I can read and review! Did Dear Adam meet my expectations? Keep on reading to find out!

What happens when the bad boy takes over the school advice column?

The last thing Emerick should be doing is giving anyone advice. His dad’s in prison. His mom’s buried under credit card debt. And he’s one step from failing. After everything his mom’s been through, she can’t take another disappointment. So when the guidance counselor gives him a choice, anonymously write the school’s advice column or drop out, what choice does he really have?

Student body president Nora Wilson has the perfect life. At least, that’s what everyone thinks. And with her dad running for governor . . . reputation is everything. She can’t let anyone know she’s drowning under the pressure. Except for an anonymous advice columnist.

Nora and Emerick can’t stand each other in real life. But online? They may have more in common than they ever thought possible.

Start reading Dear Adam in the Pen Pal Romance series today to see whether enemies can really become lovers. Fans of Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell and Dear Aaron by Mariana Zapata will love this sweet young adult romance with a diverse cast of characters that feel real enough to touch.

Review

Dear Adam is recommended for fans of Fangirl and Dear Aaron. I haven’t read Dear Aaron yet, but I definitely agree with Fangirl. This book sucks you in from the start! I read almost half of the book in one sitting! If I didn’t have to work, I would’ve finished it in one go.

Emerick isn’t your typical high school student. After his father is arrested, he feels really responsible for his mother. Going to school and working 30 hours a week is hard and when he finds out he may not graduate, he’s worried his mom won’t be able to handle the disappointment. Even though Emerick thinks the last thing he should be doing is giving others advice, he has to give it a go to graduate!

Nora is a popular girl and seems like she has everything: good friends, perfect family, great boyfriend and she does great at school. If only this were the case, because her life is far from perfect. Her dad is never around, because he’s campaigning. Because of that, she can’t slip. If Nora messes up, it could cost her father the election. Being perfect is starting to get to her though and the pressure may just be a bit too much!

Once again, Kelsie writes about an important subject. We can’t always judge people by how they act to the outside world! It’s clear Nora doesn’t have the perfect home life that everyone thinks she does and Emerick has a lot more going on and is more motivated than anyone really realizes.

Reading the e-mails ‘Adam’ writes is really touching. They may be short, but are honest. He helps them the best he can. Being able to talk to someone without being judged is something everyone needs, but in high school it’s so important. Finding your way in the world is already hard, but the added peer pressure school can bring, can be something students can’t deal with.

Mental health is a really important subject and I loved how this book showed us that without getting too serious. In many ways it was playful, but very meaningful. I loved how through the e-mails and interactions between Nora and Emerick, you could see how much they changed during the book.

Nora and Emerick are both really strong characters I’ve come to love. I wouldn’t complain if we got to read more about that. Many could say this plot is predictable and even if that is the case, the road getting to the ending is pretty unique! I think the world needs more stories like this one!

All in all, a book that makes you fall in love with the characters and hoping they get what they want! They both definitely deserve. And it shows, if you open up a bit it may lead you to figuring out what you really want! Sometimes you need to choose yourself instead of others. It’s okay to be selfish with that at times!

 

Dear Adam is a great book and I really recommend it! I can’t wait for the next book in this series.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

CommentLuv badge