Blog Tour| Dare You to Lie – Amber Lynn Natusch

When I first heard of Dare You to Lie, I was really excited! This book is described as Veronica Mars meets Riverdale. To be honest, I have never watched Veronica Mars, but I love Riverdale! I can tell you that Dare You to Lie is dark, but so good! On my stop of the blog tour I have a review, excerpt and a tour wide giveaway.

Book_Cover_3_-_Dare_You_To_Lie_by_Amber_Lynn_Natusch

Dare You To Lie by Amber Lynn Natusch

Series Hometown Antihero Book One

Genre Young Adult Mystery / Suspense

Publisher Tor Teen

Publication Date September 4, 2018
Amazon  https://amzn.to/2GZbmC1
Barnes & Noble  http://bit.ly/2zCMPjA
Kobo http://bit.ly/2uJ55SX
iBooks https://apple.co/2LhS24S

Indiebound  http://bit.ly/2NhJR68

 

The first installment in the Hometown Antihero series by Amber Lynn Natusch.

When her FBI agent father is framed for murder, Kylene is forced to move in with her grandfather, back to the small town that turned its back on her, and the boy who betrayed her.

All Ky cares about is clearing her father’s name, but someone won’t let her forget the photo scandal that drove her away two years ago. As the threats gain momentum, Ky finds an unlikely ally in the annoyingly attractive rookie FBI agent sent to keep an eye on her.

Determined to expose the town’s hidden skeletons, Ky unwittingly thrusts herself into a much bigger plot. They thought she’d forgive and forget. They’re about to learn they messed with the wrong girl.

DARE YOU TO LIE, a young adult mystery read perfect for fans of Veronica Mars, Pretty Little Liars, or Riverdale.

Review

Dare You to Lie is definitely a book for fans of Veronica Mars, Pretty Little Liars and Riverdale. I loved the dark and mysterious vibe this book gave us. This book is actionpacked and just when you think you may know who is behind everything, it turns out to be just a bit different.

Kylene hasn’t had an easy time. Her father is in prison, her mother left her to go live with her new boyfriend and she’s back at the school where there are too many bad memories. Kylene is convinced her father is innocent and will do anything she can to find proof.

Dare You to Lie is a definitely a book I couldn’t out down. I felt so bad for her with the photo scandal. No person should have to go through what Kylene does. Especially when the kids that were responsible got off without any punishment. I do think that’s something we still see in society. Girls get blamed when things like this happen.

I loved all the twists and turns in this book. I kept trying to figure out who was playing with Kylene and I was surprised. I love that there is so much more to this story than just her father’s case and the photo scandal. Everything seems connected on a whole other level. I don’t want to say too much though, because this is a book you really need to experience yourself.

I knew it was a good book for me when I really wanted to slap some of these characters. I really needed them to be punished or that someone would notice what they were doing. If an author can make me feel things like that, they’re definitely doing something right.

I think my favorite thing about this book are Kylene’s friends. Tabby and Garrett are amazing! Kylene’s grandfather is one of the characters I love as well. Even though Kylene had a lot of enemies, she had plenty of people in her corner as well.

I can’t wait for the next book and see how everything plays out! Dare You to Lie is the perfect read for the dark and rainy nights that we will be seeing in our near future.

Excerpt

I raced through town and into Gramps’s neighborhood. When I got to the house, there was a generic-looking sedan, not unlike the one my father used to drive, parked outside. I hadn’t even pulled all the way into the driveway before Agent Douchecanoe was out of his vehicle and headed my way, file in hand.

“So you’re the errand boy,” I said to him as he scowled at me.

“You know you can hear that environmental hazard coming from a mile away, right?”

“Weird . . . kinda like your hostility and hubris.”

His frown deepened as he extended the file in his hand toward me. I reached for it, but he pulled it back at the last second.

“Striker said to make sure you got this.”

“Hence the errandboy comment—”

“Do you know what’s in here?”

“Do you know what’s in there?” I countered, knowing damn well he would have looked. The suspense would have killed him.

“They’re copies of evidence from you father’s trial.”

“Ding, ding, ding!” I exclaimed, snatching the file from his hand. “Consider your errand complete. I’d tip you, but . . . I don’t get paid until next week.”

“Why did Striker want you to have those?” he asked, totally unfazed by my jab.

“Because I asked for them.”

He shook his head.

“That’s adorable. You think you can find something that a defense lawyer and a team of FBI agents couldn’t find.”

“They weren’t really looking, though, were they? They approached his investigation as if he was already guilty. Hard to be objective when your singular focus is to bring down the fall guy.”

“Says the girl with the singular focus of freeing her daddy,” he replied. “What a sad day it’s going to be for you when all you find in those files is the truth of your father’s guilt.”

“We’ll see about that.”

Giveaway

To celebrate the release of DARE YOU TO LIE by Amber Lynn Natusch, we’re giving away a $25 Amazon gift card to one lucky winner!

LINK:  http://bit.ly/2NWtBJ0

GIVEAWAY TERMS & CONDITIONS:  Open to internationally. One winner will receive a $25 Amazon gift card. This giveaway is administered by Pure Textuality PR on behalf of Amber Lynn Natusch.  Giveaway ends 9/18/2018 @ 11:59pm EST. Limit one entry per reader. Duplicates will be deleted.

About the Author

Author_Pic_-_Amber_Lynn_NatuschAMBER LYNN NATUSCH is the author of the bestselling Caged series for adults. She was born and raised in Winnipeg, and is still deeply attached to her Canadian roots. She loves to dance and practice Muay Thai―but spends most of her time running a chiropractic practice with her husband, raising two young children, and attempting to write when she can lock herself in the bathroom for ten minutes of peace. Dare You to Lie is her debut YA novel with Tor Teen.

Website https://amberlynnnatusch.com/
Facebook https://www.facebook.com/AmberLynnNatusch
Twitter https://twitter.com/AmberLNatusch
Goodreads https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/5399219.Amber_Lynn_Natusch
Amazon http://amzn.to/2DIKNze

Newsletter  http://www.subscribepage.com/AmberLynnNatusch

 

I really recommend Dare You to Lie  and I can’t wait for the next book. I want to thank the author, Tor Teen and Pure Textuality PR for the ARC and chance to be a part of this blog tour!

 

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge